"Outside a dog a book is man's best friend, inside a dog it is too dark to read!" -Groucho Marx========="The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid." -Jane Austen========="I don’t believe in the kind of magic in my books. But I do believe something very magical can happen when you read a good book."-JK Rowling========"I spend a lot of time reading." -Bill Gates=========“Ahhh. Bed, book, kitten, sandwich. All one needed in life, really.” -Jacqueline Kelly=========

Monday, November 15, 2021

TTT: Read-alikes


Top Ten Tuesday: Read-alikes!  

If you liked A you will probably like B

(And since it is Nonfiction November, I will be sneaking in a few nonfiction titles to tickle your fancy.)


The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah // Suite Francaise by Irene Nemirovsky

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas // *Citizen: An American Lyric by Claudia Rankine


Hamnet by Maggie O'Farrell // *Shakespeare: The World as Stage by Bill Bryson

We Are Not Free by Traci Chee // *Uprooted: The Japanese American Experience During WWII by Albert Marrin


The Midnight Library by Matt Haig // Life After Life by Kate Atkinson

New Kid by Jerry Craft // *This Book is Anti-Racist by Tiffany Jewell

Clap When You Land by Elizabeth Acevedo // The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte // Jane by April Lindner

There There by Tommy Orange // Post Colonial Love Poem by Natalie Diaz

*The Anthropocene Reviewed: Essays on a Human-Centered Planet by John Green // *Under A White Sky: The Nature of the Future by Elizabeth Kolbert


*=Nonfiction title

-Anne

27 comments:

  1. Interesting. I loved "Life after Life" and "There, There." But I remember liking "Suite Francaise" more than "The Nightingale" which like too many Hannah books, isn't particularly well-written.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I like Hannah's books. I found Suite Francaise distressing since we know the author was captured and killed by the Nazis

      Delete
    2. The arrows should go both directions.

      Delete
  2. Excellent pairings! I especially like There There with Post Colonial Poems.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Some books just make such a profound impact on me. There There and Postcolonial Love Poem are two such books.

      Delete
  3. Oh I haven't read Bryson yet. And Life After Life looks good...

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oh this is so clever! I love the idea of if you love this - you will love that.

    I've bought a copy of Life after Life a couple of weeks ago, and I'm glad to see you compare it to The Midnight Library. Loved that book.

    Happy TTT!

    Ten Books to Read if You Love X

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is another "time" warped books. It will take a while to gt used to it. But relax into it and I think you will enjoy it.

      Delete
  5. I'm especially keen on reading The Anthropocene Reviewed: Essays on a Human-Centered Planet by John Green and Under A White Sky: The Nature of the Future by Elizabeth Kolbert.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I actually haven't read the Elizabeth Kolbert book yet but plan to before years end.

      Delete
  6. I loved We Are Not Free by Traci Chee. I may have to check out the book you paired it with.

    Pam @ Read! Bake! Create!
    https://readbakecreate.com/bookish-gift-guide-stocking-stuffer-edition/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is an excellent nonfiction account of the whole debacle.

      Delete
  7. I loved The Nightingale so I think I'll definitely have to check out Suite Francaise. Quite a few of the "A" options are still on my TBR but I love how you've suggested NF titles that are similarly interesting! Great picks :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I enjoy reading books where I learn something new if a fiction book does that, great. If not I have to look for nonfiction titles that will teach me something. The Suite Francaise book is so bittersweet because it was written by a Jewish woman who was captured by the Nazis and killed. Someone found the book, handwritten, in a closet well after the war.

      Delete
  8. Added _Life After Life_ to my list! Also, I liked the graphics you made, and totally get how much work they were!

    Happy TTT!
    Lori
    https://fiftytwo.blog/2021/11/15/ttt-if-you-like/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you. The graphics were a bit of work. But I had a harder time finding parings of books I thought would go together that I had read.

      Delete
  9. Interesting list! I've not read any of these.

    Here is our Top Ten Tuesday. Thank you!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Fun list! I loved The Hate U Give and The Midnight Library and Clap When You Land are on my TBR.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I appreciate The Midnight Library more and more over time since I read it.

      Delete
  11. I have not read Kristin Hannah in a long time but still have books of hers that I want to read. Thanks for sharing. My link is here: https://cindysbookcorner.blogspot.com/2021/11/top-ten-tuesday-new-authors.html

    ReplyDelete
  12. This is such a great list, and I've definitely added a few of these to my TBR.

    ReplyDelete
  13. The Nightingale was the first Kristin Hannah book I ever read. Thanks for the tip on Jane Eyre/Jane. Will have to add to my TBR. Here's my post: https://pagesandpaws.com/2021/11/16/10-books-to-read-if-you-love-narnia/

    ReplyDelete
  14. I did a similar thing but with books and TV shows.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2021/11/17/top-ten-tuesday-342/

    ReplyDelete
  15. Great list - one of these days I need to read New Kid.

    Check out my TTT

    ReplyDelete
  16. I haven't read any of these but judging them solely on their covers, they seem like great read-alike picks! Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland on this week. :)

    ReplyDelete

I look forward to your comments and interactions! Join in the conversation.